Basic Nachos and Cheese

I admit it.  I love nachos and cheese.

I read about these chips from the healthy vegans in LA, so I was surprised to see them here in Arizona! The lightly salted version does contain oil, but somehow the calories from fat are the same as the unsalted ones that do not contain oil???

I suppose your best bet would be to get a little water spritzer, lay out the unsalted chips, spritz them with a little water, then a little salt.

Also, the vegan queso is a little pricey for my budget, so I think I will need to experiment with some recipes. I do like Isa’s Cashew Queso, but I would also like a simpler nutritional yeast-based alternative that is quicker and lighter.

La Reina Tortilla Chips: at Whole Foods in AZ, $2.19 each, nutrition: 9% calories from fat, sodium to calories ratio is less than 1 in the lightly salted version. But I still recommend the non-salted b/c the salt is not evenly distributed in the salty kind.

Food for Lovers Vegan Queso: at Whole Foods in AZ for $4.99, nutrition: fat free, does contain white flour, but the whole jar is only 240 calories.

If you’re not into microwaves, sometimes I use this 5/8 quart non-stick butter warmer as a double boiler. Super easy clean-up.

yummmm… good and spicy.

Leave a Reply

