Grilled Cheese and leftovers: The good and the bad

Sometimes things don’t turn out as you expect them to… You make some delicious BBQ tempeh, and decide to add some extra tempeh, a bunch of veggie broth, an onion, and some jalapeños to stew in the crock pot overnight thinking “this will kick it up a whole ‘nother level!” … and it just doesn’t work. You even take some pics as the natural light is still shining through the window, still thinking it will be delicious…

But it isn’t.

So round two.  Grilled Cheese.  I’ve been vegan for four years and this is my first attempt.  I suppose it’s taken me this long to actually like the taste of nutritional yeast!  It really is growing on me.  The recipe is from the Happy Herbivore cookbook, so you will have to check it out if you want to try it yourself. 🙂  It’s full of simple/delicious/quick recipes that are vegan and low in fat.

I don’t know if it looks delicious, but trust me it is.  It’s almost like a cheesy, light peanut butter, as it sticks to your mouth a little.  And it was wonderfully hearty with this whole wheat tuscan pane from Trader Joe’s.  I don’t buy bread very often, but when I do, this is what I get.  Only four ingredients, and one of them is water!  I will say, the only thing that stinks about this bread is that it doesn’t fit in a toaster.  These mini grilled cheeses (above) are made from the ends that didn’t fit!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

