Raspberry, Pear, and Tempeh Bacon Grilled Cheese

This was really tasty… although just like my pizza, I have to say this had one too many ingredients and less would have been more.  I think I’d save the pear for a side salad, and this sandwich would be perfect. The idea came from here, but as usual, I wanted to remove the 67% fat Daiya and 100% fat Earth Balance!  The jam does have sugar, so I probably won’t buy it again, but I do love that it has a spicy kick to it.

Ingredients:

To serve, top the toasted bread as shown above, although I suggest omitting the pear. Gently smoosh both slices together and warm on a non-stick pan for a couple minutes or in the microwave for 10-15 seconds. Slice with a serrated bread knife and eat!

The “Hot Pepper Raspberry Preserves came from AJ’s Fine Foods.  The first time I tried this jam, it was served with cream cheese and crackers… wow was that good!  I think I may have to combine it with Miyoko’s Vegan Brie  and make it “en croute” for a Christmas Day appetizer.  Definitely for special occasions only.

Tempeh Bacon

(inspired by this recipe)

  • 1 Tbsp onion powder
  • 1 Tbsp smoked paprika
  • 4 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 Tbsp hickory liquid smoke
  • 3 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • vegetable broth
  • 8 oz tempeh
  • sea salt (optional)*

Combine all ingredients except broth, tempeh, and salt in a 9×13 pan.  Add enough vegetable broth so that that a layer of thinly sliced tempeh can be covered (about 1/2 -3/4 inch high).  Stir with a fork to mix ingredients together.

Slice tempeh into long, thin strips with a serrated bread knife.  Aim for 1/4 of an inch thickness or smaller.  Coat each side of each slice with marinade until all strips are coated as in the picture below.  Marinate for at least an hour or overnight.

Next, gently move a slice of tempeh at a time to a non-stick frying pan.  Brown both sides over med-high heat.  It takes a little longer without oil (just a few minutes) so be patient!

*If you are eating this bacon by itself, I suggest sprinkling some sea salt on this after it is all cooked.  I sprinkled some on just before I put it in my sandwich and I don’t think I would have been able to tell if I had left it out.  

Leave a Reply

